The Future of Cox in a Box

Constant readers, hello and welcome!

I’ve been posting with varied frequency these past few months, and while I have long desired to keep a consistent schedule of posting on a weekly basis and attempting to keep some running features such as a weekly comic review, a weekly Deja Review, and a weekly TV review, a number of things have kept me from this goal, and for that I apologize. It always warms my heart in ways I can’t even describe to hear from one of you that you even so much as skim my posts when they go up (once, I heard from someone I was meeting for the first time that they had read my blog, and I swear my face must have lit up enough to light a city for a week), so it pains me just as much that I can’t – well, don’t – post more frequently.

So, I’d like to take a moment (just sit right there) to talk about the future of this blog. I will continue, as I always have, posting reviews and simple musings about various topics. I hope to post reviews on the scale of my recent BioShock Infinite review far more often – with the notable caveat that such reviews are not always possible simply because I do not often have so much to say – but simply more reviews will satisfy me, and I hope you readers as well. But I would also like to try a few new things.

For starters, I would like to hear from YOU. The comments section on this blog is woefully empty. Please, if you like what I have to say, or have opinions of your own, drop a line in the comments! It doesn’t take but a few seconds and will hopefully encourage some discussion. After all, while I like to talk about what I think, I much prefer it when that talking generates discussion rather than just silent agreement (or disagreement!). Additionally, I’d also like to get some guest posts. I know some of you guys out there have strong opinions: write them up and send them to me! I’ll post them on the blog giving you full byline and everything. Of course, I will always encourage people to make their own blogs and share their opinions more regularly, but I am more than willing and would be thrilled even to accept guest posts.

Secondly, and the thing I’m most excited to get off the ground, is I want to start doing videos. Discussion and analysis videos. I’ve had a significant analysis video in the works for a couple of months now, and while it’s a far cry from being finished, it is very much something I am passionate about and intend to see it through. But I’d also like to have nearly weekly roundtable discussions with myself and a few of you guys: we get together, sit around a table, and talk about a topic. I’ve wanted to do something like this for a while, and I hope that some of you can get as excited about this as I am. In a few weeks here on Cox in a Box, I’m going to have a new series of posts going up (I’m writing them all in advance so I have a consistent posting schedule). At that time, I’m going to post a call for collaborators who would be willing to star in these discussions and talk about games, movies, and TV. If you’re interested, look out for that post and make sure to submit your name!

So that’s what’s coming down the pipeline. I hope to make this a more substantial blog in the coming months, and hope that you all will make the trip with me.

Thanks for everything, constant readers.

[Also: Don’t let the post date deter you – this is very much legitimate.]

One thought on “The Future of Cox in a Box

  1. Michael C. says:

    I deeply understand your current lack of postings. As we both know, the film industry mostly cranks out duds up until summer blockbuster season. I look forward to reading more of your reviews in the future.

    Court of Owls Vol. 2 came in yesterday and it was pretty awesome.

Comment on this article...

